How APC Won 11 Seats of Plateau House of Assembly Without Election

Apc Pdp Plateau lawmakers sacked
Just like the Governor of Plateau State, Caleb Muftwang, lost his seat as the Chief Executive Officer of the State in the court of appeal recently, 11 of the 18 lawmakers produced by the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) during the March 18th House of Assembly Election in Plateau state have been sacked by the court. Candidates of the All Progressives Congress (APC) who challenged their victories have been awarded their seats in the state Assembly.

The Court of Appeal hearing the case of the 11 plateau lawmakers, in the unanimous ruling by the panel led by Justice Okon Abang, lost their seats to the APC candidates who were the runners-up in the March 18th election after the court ruled that PDP violated section 177 of the 1999 constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

Before the judgment was delivered by the Appeal Court panel sitting in Abuja, the Plateau State House of Assembly was composed of 18 PDP members, 5 APC members, and one member belonging to the Young People’s Party (YPP).

The names of the sacked 11 House of Assembly members in Plateau State include Hon. Danjuma Azi (Jos North West); Hon. Abubakar Sani Idris (Mangu North); Salome Waklek (Pankshin); Hon. Bala Fwangji (Mangu South); Hon. Maren Ishaku (Bokkos); Hon. Dagogot (Quaanpan North); Hon. Timothy Dantong (Riyom); Hon. Rimyat Nanbol (Langtang North Central); Moses Sule (Mikang); Hon. Nannim Langyi (Langtang North North); and Hon. Nimchak Rims (Langtang South).

Just like the Court of Appeal cited during the sacking of Governor Muftwang of Plateau, their candidature was not legitimately sponsored by any political party during the March 18th Governorship and State House of Assembly elections in Plateau state, and the votes cast for them were wasted, void and null.

Recall that PDP failed to hold party congresses at the state, local government, and ward levels in Plateau state where the party would have elected party excos that would conduct primaries election for its candidate in the last election. All the candidate were sponsored by the National Caretaker Committee of the party, the same political error that was subverted by the APC when the National Caretaker Committee headed by Yobe State Governor Mai Mala Buni were reluctant to allow the party to conduct congresses at all levels.

Category: World-News
Tag: Apc Pdp Plateau lawmakers sacked
Written by Omooba Alekuwodo (omoobaalekuwodo)
Published 11/25/2023 5:55:53 PM

Join us on:
Facebook | WhatsApp Community
| Twitter| WhatsApp Channel
How would you react to this story?
Thump Up Thumb Down
Thumb Up Thumb Up
0 0

You cannot submit comment on this topic because you are not currently login. You can choose to Login or Create an Account then you are good to join the discussion.

Author Author (Entrant )
6 months ago
0     0     - 0 Replies    

Most Recent Comments         Load More Comments

Trending News

Ude Unveils List of 20 People Allegedly Killed By The Embattled Fmr Gov Yahaya Bello

Nigerian University Expels Student for Impregnating Her Female Lecturer

Gov Adeleke Caught Placing Personal Tags On Federal Government Palliative Rice To Deceive Osun People

Ownership Crisis Rocks Benin City as Igodomigodo Asks Oba of Benin to Return To Ile-Ife

Many Fear Dead As Flight Vehicle Fell in Makurdi

Lady Runs Mad After She Was Dropped From A Tricycle By Suspected Yahoo Boys

Uproars as Suspected Yahoo Boy Brags 100 Nigerian Policemen Guide Him Daily

Aregbesola Dragged for Violating State Policy At Iwo Ramadan Lecture

First Class Graduate Die After Completing 21-Day Fasting Allegedly Ordained By Her Pastor To Cure Ailment

Obi Cubana Share Touching Story When His Wife Paid His Price

Load More
Free CBT Exams
Take Exam